Dimples are cute! Unless they are on your thighs

We live in a body obsessed society, let’s face it. These perfect bodies are splashed on almost every page of every magazine you open these days, on every channel and in every movie. We see women flaunting their figures of perfection in skin tight dresses and sky high heels. Perfect skin, hair, nails, clothes.. where does it end and how can I keep up?!

M5-2ad7b56d8a3da539b4413a18bbeb46ee

Artist Daniel Soares pasted Photoshop toolbar stickers on these H&M posters as a nice little reminder that not all is as it seems

I started thinking about this when I was flipping through my latest issue of Cosmo and noticed these women in their skimpy lingerie offering me ” The 50 best sex tips to drive him wild” article. I couldn’t help but notice I was examining the girl in the article photo like a doctor. Looking for a flaw on her perfectly tanned body that didn’t seem to have any kind of imperfection anywhere. Now when I look at myself, I see many things wrong. Skin is too pale, my arms are long and weird, I have really ugly toes that resemble Fred Flintstone and the thing that bothers me the most when the warmer weather starts to creep in, my cellulite.

I don’t have much cellulite. But the fact that it’s there drives me nuts. I usually assess my wardrobe in the summer by length so anything 2 inches below my cellulite is appropriate. I self tan, use anti cellulite creams, use a dry brush to massage the skin, do home remedies. Sure they work for a little while, but its not a lasting effect. But did you know that at least 80% of women have cellulite? 80%! That’s a huge number! Short, tall, skinny, curvy, fat, athletic, models, actresses, anybody and everybody. It doesn’t matter what your body type is, cellulite doesn’t discriminate. So what exactly is cellulite and how the hell do I get rid of it?

Simply put, cellulite is the bumpy, dimpled, cottage cheese like skin that shows up around your butt, stomach and thighs. DELISH! It’s fat that has pushed through the connective tissue meant to hold fat cells in place. Women are cursed with vertical connective tissue (men’s tissue is crisscrossed) which allows fat to sneak through much easier. As we get older and have more weight fluctuations, that connective tissue gets stretched out. They’re not as elastic and more fat is able to sneak through the gaps. The end result is that bumpy skin we see which is called cellulite. If women and men are built differently, I’d guess there would be bigger reason for getting cellulite, right? Turns out, there is! The purpose of cellulite is to provide insulation, cushioning and temperature regulation. What’s more, it indicates you are receiving sufficient calories to carry a pregnancy full term. Most doctors and scientists (the ones who don’t work in the beauty and cosmetic industry) have begun to think of cellulite as a characteristic developed in puberty, like boobs! It’s that inevitable. So basically, cellulite isn’t that bad! It means we are healthy and our bodies are doing what it should.

I hear ya, girl

I hear ya, girl

So why is there absolutely no fix for cellulite? No permanent solution to get rid of this bumpy braille like skin? I started to ask myself this when I realized that every cream or expensive spa treatment on the market was just a band aid solution. Maybe there is no fix because nothing is broken. It’s only when we feel totally ashamed of our perfectly healthy bodies ( and having cellulite is proof your body is doing what it should ) that we start to spend insane amounts of cash on something that can’t be cured. Maybe that right there is a sign that it shouldn’t be cured and we should just accept our bodies as they are. Perfectly imperfect with every little dimple to prove it.

If women and men are built differently, we’d guessthere’s a biological reason for getting cellulite, right? There is. The purpose of cellulite is to provide insulation, cushioning and temperature regulation. What’s more, it indicates you are receiving sufficient calories to carry a pregnancy full term. Most doctors and scientists (the ones who don’t work in the cellulite industry) have begun to think of cellulite as a characteristic developed in puberty–like breasts. It’s that inevitable. – See more at: http://www.austinpost.org/article/cellulite-obsession-and-why-we-should-cut-it-out#sthash.Rt2KrrZ8.dpuf
Cellulite is fat that has pushed through the connective tissues meant to hold fat cells in place. Women are cursed with vertical connective tissue (men’s tissue is crisscrossed) which allows fat to sneak through much easier. As we get older and/or have more weight fluctuations, those connective tissues get stretched out. They’re not as elastic and more fat is able to sneak through the gaps. Thus, we have cellulite. – See more at: http://www.austinpost.org/article/cellulite-obsession-and-why-we-should-cut-it-out#sthash.Rt2KrrZ8.dpuf
Cellulite is fat that has pushed through the connective tissues meant to hold fat cells in place. Women are cursed with vertical connective tissue (men’s tissue is crisscrossed) which allows fat to sneak through much easier. As we get older and/or have more weight fluctuations, those connective tissues get stretched out. They’re not as elastic and more fat is able to sneak through the gaps. Thus, we have cellulite. – See more at: http://www.austinpost.org/article/cellulite-obsession-and-why-we-should-cut-it-out#sthash.Rt2KrrZ8.dpuf
Cellulite is fat that has pushed through the connective tissues meant to hold fat cells in place. Women are cursed with vertical connective tissue (men’s tissue is crisscrossed) which allows fat to sneak through much easier. As we get older and/or have more weight fluctuations, those connective tissues get stretched out. They’re not as elastic and more fat is able to sneak through the gaps. Thus, we have cellulite. – See more at: http://www.austinpost.org/article/cellulite-obsession-and-why-we-should-cut-it-out#sthash.Rt2KrrZ8.dpuf
Standard

2 thoughts on “Dimples are cute! Unless they are on your thighs

  1. If I Had 100 Dollars says:

    “Perfectly imperfect” is an awesome way to put it. I am so judgmental of pictures of myself that are taken to make sure everything is as close to perfect as I can get rather than just accepting how I look. Thanks for this! 🙂

    • I do the SAME thing! I look over a photo and point out every single flaw to myself. I’ve gotten a lot better and remind myself every time I see an ad that makes me feel crappy, that she had help to look that way and I could look just as good with all that work. She’s no better than me. It’s just her job.

Leave a Reply

